Different IT Policies For Five Separate States In Nigeria



Niger, Enugu and State of Osun as well as Akwa-Ibom and Kano, all states in Nigeria, can boast of its information Technology (IT) as each state is implementing its own policy, of course depending on their level of technology.

Dr. Ashiru Sani Daura, the acting director-general of the National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA), revealed this at the just concluded second meeting of the National Council on Communication Technology (NCCT) in Akure.

He said that he was looking forward to working with the other states across the country to develop their respective IT policies, and was looking at the possibility of having done some great deal by the end of tis year.

Dr. Daura added that is was encouraging that NITDA made effort to include the development of IT policies in the states and worked with the current budget and added that Rivers State was in preparation for joining the league of States with IT policies before the third NCCT.

The Director- General also said that his expectation was that in less than two years NITDA along side that collaboration of the states government will finish the development of IT policies across the nation.

“We are collaborating with them to develop the IT policies. Now, we have put in our budget to have more states to collaborate with. And even if you can recall, Rivers announced at the Council section, they will like to be among the next set. They requested that and if we can, We will like to have more states and this will be over, may be in the next two years or few years, so that this will be over,” he declared.

Adding that already, Akwa-Ibom and Kano have their policies in place and there are others like that in some parts of the country.

The Federal Minister of Communication Technology, Mrs. Omobola Johnson has commended the Ondo State government for what she described as the most progressive state leveraging Information Communication Technology (ICT) to deliver socio-economic benefits to citizenry.