Wednesday, May 22, 2024
No menu items!

Top 5 This Week

bama cap

Related Posts

Google adds 3 Nigerian languages to translation service

- Ad-
Share this

In a move aimed at making the Google Translation Service available in more African languages, the world’s biggest search engine, Google, has added three Nigerian languages – Yoruba, Hausa and Igbo to Google Translate.

The three languages are spoken by more than 100 million indigenous natives and are an addition to Google Translate which is currently available in more than 80 languages.

With the addition of Hausa (Harshen Hausa), spoken in Nigeria and neighbouring countries with 35 million native speakers, Igbo (Asụsụ Igbo) spoken in Nigeria with 25 million native speakers, Yoruba (èdè Yorùbá) spoken in Nigeria and neighbouring countries with 28 million native speakers; Google said it is helping about 115 million native speakers who have access to the web to connect with new people.

- Ad -

In addition to the web-based service, Google Translate can also be accessed via a dedicated Android app; there is also a desktop web app for the service.

Share this
- Ad -

Popular Articles