Friday, June 14, 2024
No menu items!

Top 5 This Week

bama cap

Related Posts

19 Teams Confirm Attendance at The Safaricom Sevens Tournament in Kenya

- Ad-
Share this

19 teams have so far confirmed to take part in the Safaricom Sevens tournament scheduled for the end of the month.

South Africa will be represented by the Sharks and regulars Western Province while Great Britain has three teams including Welsh Warriors, England Students and Wailers. Kenya as usual will have two teams namely defending champions Shujaa and the Morans.

Other countries expected at the tournament include Germany, Samurai Invitational, Stade de France, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Spain, Auckland Metro (New Zealand) and Australia Icons. Canada and Russia are yet to confirm their participation. So far, apart from Kenya, Samoa and Argentina are the only core teams in the tournament.

- Ad -

In a statement, Mwangi Muthee, the chairman of Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) assured visiting teams of utmost security during the three days of competition. His remarks focused on the withdrawal of England teams last year following Westgate terror attack.

As proof of adequate security within the country, Muthee mentioned some of the global events hosted by Kenya this year including a recent tour by South African side Western Province, Kenya Open Golf in March, European Challenge Tour, CAR Women 7s in April and the visit by United Nations Secretary General Ban Ki Moon in June.

- Ad-

According to Muthee, they are constantly communicating with different embassies and the visitors are free to confirm any issue they want clarified.

“The organizing committee is working closely with the National Police Service, Nairobi City County Government as well as the Ministry of Interior and Coordination to make the tournament a success. Kenya will be using the tournament to bid for one of the 2015-2016 IRB legs,” added Muthee.

Share this
- Ad -

Popular Articles