One of the most painful things that can happen on social media is being blocked on WhatsApp.
You can be blocked on any other social media platform but for some reason WhatsApp hurts the most. The reason why is because you most likely use this app to interact with people every single day. WhatsApp has made it vague to know if someone has blocked you for privacy reasons but there are rather obvious signs you can check and tell if someone no longer wishes for you to communicate with them, if you’re wondering, check these signs out.
1. The first step is to obviously open your WhatsApp
This is rather obvious, you need to get on WhatsApp to actually check and see if the person you suspect has actually blocked you.
2. Secondly, check contacts and search for the user that blocked you
We are quite sure you’ve been checking to see if the person you suspect has blocked you, so check that user right now and tap on their profile.
3. Do they have a status?
If someone has blocked you, you can’t see their online status it just seems blank if you can’t see any status such as “online” or “available,” appears below the contact’s name, they may have blocked you. Usually most people have something written under their name even without a profile picture.
4. Tap on the user’s contact
Open the chat window with the user, if you’ve done this several times before this article and you have never seen the person online and you’re used to seeing them online then there could be a reason for that, they blocked you.
5. Is there a last seen?
Some people hide their last seen but if it used to be there before and now all of a sudden you can’t see their last seen, there’s a high chance you’re not meant to see it.
6. Message them
This is the easiest way to know if someone has blocked you, you can send a simple “hi”. This simple hello will tell you if you have been blocked if there are no blue ticks or there’s no delivery which shows two grey ticks. Some people have removed blue ticks but if you don’t get two grey ticks even after a couple of minutes then there’s reason to be worried.
7. You see no photo
Seeing no profile picture is such a huge sign that someone has blocked you. If there’s no profile picture especially if the person is a fan of uploading new pictures every now and again then it’s because they simply no longer want to interact with you.
8. You never see their status
Okay, this could also mean someone hid you from seeing their status but if you’re used to seeing their status combined with every other reason above, then you no longer see their status, there’s a huge possibility you have been blocked.