Thursday, June 13, 2024
No menu items!

Top 5 This Week

bama cap

Related Posts

CEO Weekends: CNN announces 2014 MULTICHOICE AFRICAN JOURNALIST Awards finalists

- Ad-
Share this



CNN has today announced the finalist of the of the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2014 Competition. The names were revealed by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel.

- Ad -

In this year’s competition, the awards have received entries from 38 countries across the continent, including the French and Portuguese speaking Africa.

There are 28 finalists from 10 countries:

- Ad-



- Ad -

1. Patrick Mayoyo, Daily Nation, Kenya

2. Joseph Mathenge, Freelance for The Saturday Nation, Kenya

3. Anne Mawathe & Rashid Ibrahim, Citizen TV, Kenya

4. Christine Muthee & Oliver Oscar Ochanda, Media Development in Africa (MEDEVA), Kenya

5. John Muchangi Njiru, The Star Newspaper, Kenya

6. Bob Koigi,, Kenya

7. Evelyn Watta,, Kenya


1.       Daniel Biaou Adje, ORTB, Benin

2.       Safia Berkouk, El Watan, Algeria

3.       Vinayak Bhardwaj & Tabelo Timse, M&G Centre for Investigative Journalism, Mail & Guardian, South Africa

4.       Romão Brandão, Jornal OPAÍS, Angola

5.       Sean Christie, Freelance for Landbouweekblad and The Mail & Guardian, South Africa

6.       Obinna Emelike, Business Day, Nigeria

7.       Ben Ezeamalu & Emmanuel Ogala, Premium Times, Nigeria

8.       Dickson Ng’hily, The Guardian, Tanzania

9.       Olatunji Ololade, The Nation Newspaper, Nigeria

10.   Bayo Olupohunda, Columnist, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

11.   Ossène Ouattara,, Côte d’Ivoire

12.   Brito Simango, Televisão de Moçambique, Moçambique

13.   Joy Summers & Susan Comrie, Mnet Carte Blanche, South Africa

14.   Suy Kahofi, Freelance for West Africa Democracy Radio, Senegal

15.   Paballo Thekiso, Saturday Star, South Africa

16.   Bento Venancio, Jornal Domingo, Moçambique

Announcing the finalists, chairperson of the independent judging panel Ferial Haffajee said: “2013 was a huge news year, and the stories from our continent set a global agenda. The judges were pleased with the quality of entries, and were impressed by the depth of specialist beat reporting. In addition, they noted the growing sophistication of the use of images and pictures across all platforms.”

The independent judging panel, chaired by Ferial Haffajee, Editor-in-Chief, City Press, South Africa includes: Debo Adesina, Editor-in-Chief, Guardian Newspapers, Nigeria; Betty Dindi, Managing Editor of QTV, Nation Media Group, Kenya; Jean-Paul Gérouard, Editor-in-Chief, France Télévisions ; Anton Harber, Caxton Professor of Journalism at the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa; Joel Kibazo, Director of Communications, Africa Development Bank; Arlindo Lopes, Regional Regulatory GM, MultiChoice Angola; Amadou Mahtar Ba, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, AllAfrica Global Media;  Kim Norgaard, CNN Africa Bureau Chief; Aires Walter dos Santos,  Account Executive, iSenta Comunicação & Imagem SA, Angola.

The finalists will enjoy an all-expense paid four day programme of workshops, media forums and networking in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania culminating in a Gala Award Ceremony on Saturday 18 October 2014.

The competition is now in its 19th year.

Share this
- Ad -
Caroline Vutagwa
Caroline Vutagwa
Minding my own business is not enough for me that's why you will always find me minding Africa's Businesses as well as Technology and of course letting you know about it. Talk to me on [email protected]

Popular Articles