TikTok has introduced new ways to let users be entertained and connect with others on TikTok – a daily photo and video experience to share your most authentic moments with the people who matter the most. TikTok Now brings the authenticity of TikTok to a whole new creative experience that connects you with those closest to you.
TikTok Now will help the company to foster authentic and spontaneous connections on TikTok and make possible deeper connections and fun entertainment in an easy-to-use format, TikTok Now lets you capture what you’re doing at the moment using your device’s front and back camera including capturing 10-second video or a static photo to quickly and easily share what you’re up to.
We’re experimenting with TikTok Now over the coming weeks. In Africa, TikTok Now can be accessed from both TikTok and the new TikTok Now app. In other regions, TikTok Now may be available within TikTok, downloadable as a new TikTok Now app, or available in both formats. We’ll continue to enhance the user experience as we learn more about how the TikTok community embraces this new creative format.
“We’ve designed TikTok Now with the safety and privacy of our community in mind. Creators are in control of deciding who can view or engage with their content. They can block others and choose which comments appear on their content. And if someone comes across behaviour they believe may violate our Community Guidelines, they can report it for review.”
“We carefully consider the safety of our community, and continue to take further steps to help support the safety and well-being of teens, in particular, TikTok said.
If someone under the age of 16 creates an account to use the TikTok Now app, just like TikTok, their account will be private by default while those under the age of 18 will not be able to share their content on the Explore feed. People aged between 13 and 15 will have commenting options limited to Friends only to help protect against unwanted interactions.
Users above 18 and over have additional sharing settings. In addition to sharing with mutual friends, they can opt to share their posts with the broader TikTok Now community based on the privacy settings they have chosen.
The new app also brings the default setting ‘Friends can view’. option to change your privacy settings. You get to choose who you’d like to allow to view your TikTok Now posts. Friends can view: Anyone who follows you, and you follow back can view your TikTok Now. Everyone: Anyone in your area can view your TikTok Now posts. Keep in mind, people that don’t follow you or you don’t follow back can’t comment or interact with your TikTok Now posts.
“We’re always looking to create seamless ways for our community to build authentic connections as they continue to be entertained on TikTok. TikTok Now is rolling out to people worldwide over the coming weeks. We’re excited to learn from our community and continue to improve, enrich, and expand on the TikTok experience.”