Here Are The Afrinolly Short Film Competition Finalists



The Afrinolly Short Film Competition now has done their final cut and the finalists are now 20; Ten in the Short Film category and ten in the Documentary category.

The entries were more that 400 all from 16 countries which include; Rwanda, Kenya, Nigeria, UK, Namibia, Tanzania, Ghana, USA, South Africa, Zambia, Uganda, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Malaysia, Ukraine and Cameroon.

In the Short Film category finalists, Nigeria lead in numbers. The list included:-

1.                  1. The Strangers – Ejim Fortune (Nigeria)

  1. Everything Happens for a Reason – Florian Schott (Namibia)
  2. 10:10 – Gbenga Salu (Nigeria)
  3. Blurred Lines – Benjamin Kent (Ghana)
  4. Crimson – Your Cup Of Tea – Daniel Etim Effiong (Nigeria)
  5. Busted – Frank Orji (South Africa)
  6. Big Man – Julius Onah (USA)
  7. In Iredu – Abiola Sobo (Nigeria)
  8. Five – Akin Okunrinboye (USA)
  9. Imodoye – Femi Omoluabi (Nigeria)

In the documentary category, it was even. This list included:-

1.                  1.Umalume – Ndud Shandu (South Africa)

  1. British Nigerian Me – Dayo Adeneye (UK)
  2. BIJOU Death Of A Cinema Hall – Ashraf Nayan (South Africa)
  3. The Quest – Howard Bland (Zambia)
  4. Free Inside – Amit Makan (South Africa)
  5. Yellow Fever – Ng’endo Mukii (Kenya)
  6. Awele’s Diary – Ronke Ogunmakin (Uk)
  7. Blind Aspiration – Dapo Osinaike (Nigeria)
  8. Creative Minds – Victor Okoye (Ukraine)
  9. Mount Ephrem – Martial arts pioneer in Ethiopia – Garmamie (Canada)


The selection was based on the narrative’s imagination and originality, the plot’s ability to attract and retain the viewer’s attention, clarity of purpose and an overall professional impression. Other criteria for selection included having adept mastery of technical aspects i.e. sound quality, costume, acting, screenplay, editing, lighting and camera work.

These films are now online for the public to view and vote for their favorite. To vote for your favourite short film and documentary, log on to Voting ends on Sunday, 19 January 2014. Winners in the Afrinolly Short Film Competition will be announced online on Monday, 20 January 2014.

So what’s in for the winners? Cash prize of $25,000 for the overall winners in both categories, while the first and second runners-up will receive $10,000 and $5,000 respectively. Winners will be awarded at an exclusive Afrinolly Awards event in Lagos on Saturday, 22 February 2014.

The Afrinolly Short Film Competition is aimed at digitally showcasing African cinema talent and providing a platform to foster a new generation of African content and make same available online. It is supported by MTN, Cote Ouest Audiovisuel, IREP and Goethe Institut.