https://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js?client=ca-pub-5653101863891512
Home Startups Kenya’s Niaje.com Named Africa’s Best Blog

Kenya’s Niaje.com Named Africa’s Best Blog

by Sam Wakoba
1 comment

Kenya’s Niaje.com has been named the best blog in Africa beating over 520 entries from 27 African countries to win the first annual African Blogger Awards.

Niaje emerged top in the best African Blog category beating 32 others. Last year, Niaje was named as the best Kenyan blog in the Kenya Bloggers Awards.

165471_635495529800957_1133786478_n In Kenya, Niaje and Ghafla Kenya compete voracioulsy for the top spot among the youth to be the go-to site for entertainment and lifestyle news and are nearly edgeing Capital Lifestyle which has become more political and old school.

According to Murray Legg, co-founder of the African Blogger Awards, “The competition received entries from all corners of the continent including Nigeria, Kenya, Benin, Mali, Morocco, Togo, Cameroon, Malawi and Eritrea, to name a few, with the diversity of nationalities being a clear indication that social media influencers across Africa have welcomed the opportunity to be measured quantitatively against their peers.”

1395803_750609304956245_1853711871_n

Apart from Niaje other winners include the best Instagrammer in Africa, Gareth Pon and Nigeria’s TechLoy as the best business blog among others. Winners in each category receive a commemorative trophy and a web banner announcing their achievement that can be personally-leveraged through their social network.

Though not so well popularised, entrants to the awards were required to register via  Webfluential, a platform designed to impartially quantify their reach, resonance and relevance and measured the blogs reach, resonance and relevance as influencer channels.

970615_661562990527544_793367454_n“The calibre of entries into the Awards reveals how social media marketing is growing in influence across the continent,” says Mike Sharman, co-founder of the African Blogger Awards. “The entrants’ combined audiences total over 5.6 million blog visitors, 10.2 million Twitter followers, 2.5 million Instagram followers, with YouTube channels offering a combined 75 million views.”

The second annual African Blogger Awards will be held in February 2015.

See the full list of winners below.

Category (Nr entries) Name URL
Best Instagrammer (Africa) (7) Gareth Pon @garethpon
Best African Blog (33) Niaje – Kenya’s Best Entertainment & Lifestyle News http://niaje.com
Advice (31) The Techie Guy http://thetechieguy.com
Arts and Culture (32) 10 and 5 http://10and5.com
Brand Blog (14) Brandslut http://www.brandslut.co.za
Business (16) Techloy http://techloy.com
Digital Marketing (14) Gotta Quirk http://quirk.biz
Education (47) Campus Portal Nigeria http://campusportalng.com/
Entertainment (67) Just Curious http://justcurious.co.za
Events and Nightlife (8) Nairobi Now :: arts, culture and events http://nairobinow.wordpress.com/
Fashion and Beauty (38) Curvy Chronicles http://capitalfm.co.ke/lifestyle
Finance (5) FNB Blog https://blog.fnb.co.za/
Hobbies (5) Fortress of Solitude http://www.fortressofsolitude.co.za
Lifestyle (61) We Are Awesome http://www.we-are-awesome.com
Music (19) Ghanaian music videos and music news http://www.ghanamusic.com
Niche Market (13) Actors.co.ke http://www.actors.co.ke
Other (specify) (50) Africa Business Magazine http://www.africabusiness.com/
Parenting (9) Rattle and Mum http://www.rattleandmum.co.za
Personal (59) Xtian Dela http://www.xtiandela.com
Photography (16) The Pretty Blog http://www.theprettyblog.com/
Specific to Your Country (Africa) (28) BongoSwaggz http://bongoswaggz.com
Sports (10) The Bounce http://www.thebounce.co.za
Technology and Gadgets (50) Lazy Gamer http://www.lazygamer.net
Travel (24) Getaway Magazine http://www.getaway.co.za
Youth Culture (17) The Travel Manuel http://thetravelmanuel.com/
Best Twitter Personality (Africa) (26) NO WINNER
Best YouTuber (Africa) (5) NO WINNER
Automotive (9) NO WINNER
DIY Blog (7) NO WINNER
Entrepreneur (14) NO WINNER
Expat (African) (5) NO WINNER
Health and Beauty (13) NO WINNER
Marketing and Media (25) NO WINNER
Political (36) NO WINNER
Religious (11) NO WINNER
Food and Drink (13) NO WINNER

Photos by Niaje.

 

You may also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

https://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js?client=ca-pub-5653101863891512
%d bloggers like this: