https://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js?client=ca-pub-5653101863891512
Home How To How to Stop People From Adding You to Groups on Instagram?

How to Stop People From Adding You to Groups on Instagram?

by Yvone Kendi
0 comment

Instagram settings by default allow anyone on Instagram to add you to any group. I know that sounds terrifying. In any case, you can change this and gain some privacy on Instagram. You’re in luck if you have a professional Instagram profile. You can control who can add you to groups.

Here is a fix for that:

  • Go to your profile on Instagram.
  • In the top-right corner, tap the three-line menu icon.
  • In the menu, select “Settings.”
Tap "Settings."
  • On the Settings screen, select “Privacy.”
Tap "Privacy."
  • On the Privacy screen, select the “Messages” option.
Tap "Messages."
  • Under “Allow others to add you to groups,” select “Only people you follow.”
Tap "Only people you follow."
  • Only accounts you follow will be able to add you to chat groups from now on.

If you, like most people, have a personal Instagram account, there is currently no way to prevent someone from adding you to a group—even if your account is set to private.

Instead, you have three choices:

  • Turn off group request notifications.
  • Get out of the group.
  • Block the user who added you.

To turn off notifications for group requests:

  • navigate to your profile
  • In the upper-right corner, tap the menu icon.
  • Then navigate to Settings > Notifications > Direct Messages.
Tap "Direct Messages."
  • Tap “Off” under Group Requests.
Tap "Off" under Group Requests.
  • At the very least, you will no longer receive a push notification when someone adds you to a group.

To leave a group chat:

  • In the top-right corner of the chat, tap the” I “icon.
Tap the "i" button.
  • Under the list of chat members, select “Leave Chat.”
  • Then select “Leave.”
Tap "Leave Chat."

To block the account that is added:

  •  Under Members, tap the three small dots next to the account’s name.
Tap the "..." button to the right of a member.
  • To block that chat, tap “Block.”
Tap "Block."
  • This will prevent the spammer from adding you to the group again.

You may also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

https://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js?client=ca-pub-5653101863891512
%d bloggers like this: