Delete For Everyone: Whatsapp to Allow Users Unsend Messages

0
440

You know that moment when you send a couple of messages to a contact, and that voice in you head says, ‘you couldn’t have sent that’. You realise you really couldn’t have sent that, but then the message is delivered and the recipient has probably even read it.

We also mistakenly send messages to the wrong person. By wrong person, I mean, totally wrong person. Like a message meant for you girlfriend goes to your mum, dad or a random friend. Sometimes, it gets more embarrassing than that.

But, here’s good news!

Whatsapp would soon be rolling out a new feature that would enable you recall those embarrassing texts and edit them, if need be.

According to a series of tweets by WABetaInfo, a Twitter account focused on WhatsApp beta, the new feature is working, and would be enabled soon on Android and iOS devices.

“WhatsApp is finally testing the Delete for Everyone feature: the server finally works and it successfully recalls the message. Also if the server works, this does not mean that the feature is currently enabled.  It will be remotely enabled later and seen that WhatsApp ‘enabled’ their servers for the Delete for Everyone feature, it may really be enabled soon,”

“WhatsApp has added in beta the possibility to edit messages that you already sent. It is actually disabled by default and it’s under development,” WABetaInfo tweeted.

The recall or revoke button when enabled, would work with all types of messages like GIFs, videos, texts, documents and more.

However, only the unread messages can be recalled, and has to be done within 5 minutes of time frame.

Whatsapp would not be the first IM app to roll the recall feature, as it’s been available in other apps like WeChat and Viber.