Netflix appears to have begun charging consumers for sharing passwords with friends.
This is unsurprising, given that the corporation had previously disclosed the policy change in March. The message made it obvious that Netflix no longer wants customers to share their account passwords with others, and that if they want to share their account with other people, they would have to pay a fee.
Following that, it ran a test to crack down on password sharing in Peru, Chile, and Costa Rica.
However, the company’s attempt to restrict password sharing isn’t going as anticipated. According to a report by Rest of World, Netflix is charging subscribers additional fees for violating the rules, which specifies that the account should not be “shared with persons outside your family.”
When the popular video streaming service punished a few customers for violating the policy and sharing passwords with others, consumers simply opted to discontinue their subscription. Even though Netflix has officially revealed its new policy of charging more for account sharing, many Peruvians are still perplexed.
According to the stated source, thousands of Netflix members were not formally told about the new policy or the additional costs that are being charged. Some customers are still sharing accounts and have yet to be notified of any additional charges. Following that, a Netflix spokeswoman informed the Rest of the World that the new policy is still being implemented and that different subscribers may be paid differently.