WhatsApp is working on a new forthcoming feature that will remove the notification that is normally delivered to everyone in the group when you want to quit a group conversation.
According to a screenshot posted by WABetaInfo, users will be notified differently if they attempt to leave a WhatsApp group.
“Only you and group admins will be notified that you left the group,” the message stated.
When the feature is available, the app will still notify the group admins of your departure, but no one else will know unless you tell them.
Currently, when a person leaves a group, WhatsApp inserts a system message into the chat to notify all participants.
Back in April, WABetaInfo mentioned the feature when Meta mentioned working with communities, which anyone may use to unite distinct group conversations “under one canopy with a structure that suits them.”
The feature is currently being developed for WhatsApp desktop beta, but it will eventually be available on WhatsApp beta for Android and iOS before being made available to all users.
This functionality will be especially useful for users who have been trying to leave groups but have been unable to do so due to the embarrassing moments announcing each person’s exit.